Duck Faces *Bang Bang*

I am getting increasingly tired of the duck face… it has worn out it’s welcome. For those of you who do not know what it is, I’ll explain. Girls, and some boys, will take pictures of themselves making a kissy face and end up looking like Donald Duck. Now why on earth would a girl want to make herself look ridiculous?! I have a few theories. First, they think they look cute and silly, friendly even. Instead they look stupid and frankly unattractive. Whatever happened to simply smiling sweetly?! Thank god the myspace pose is losing favor… finally.

My second theory goes back to how women tend to be treated. Girls who are doing these poses are usually young and pretty. While growing up they are told they are “cute”, “pretty”, “small”, or some other cutesy and wonderful compliment. Now these are perfectly fine as long as a girl is called smart, intelligent, or witty along the way also; unfortunate these aren’t common “girly” complements. Being called beautiful is always wonderful, but we need to teach our girls intelligence and making smart choices are equally as important.

Anyway, back to how this contributes to the dreaded duck face. These “cute” girls get it in their heads that by being silly in their photos they will get positive attention. That is usually the case, but there is also negative attention. A girl who always receives attention for being pretty and not for her intelligence will think she’s not very smart, but then she discovers her outer looks will only carry her so far. So, then she craves any attention possible and by posting hundreds, upon hundreds of photos to Facebook or twitter or whatever, she gets what she wants. People grow bored with others who have nothing to say, so girls who don’t know what to say resort to attention grabbing behavior; short skirts, swearing, sex at a young age, being reckless, underage drinking, dating bad boys, and taking inappropriate pictures.

Okay, maybe the duck face isn’t as bad as what I listed but my theory says the girls who make this face want attention. The duck face is a road to destruction…. alright I am exaggerating but I think that when girls take pictures posed as a sexual nature; kissy face (duck face), wanting eyes, open mouths, cleavage pics, and so on, there is something wrong. They are copying the world they see around them and that’s not good. They think they can’t use their intelligence to be noticed, they are using their bodies. They have self-objectified themselves and are now allowing others to objectify them.

Taking pictures of yourself is not bad. Take a look at my picture, it was taken on accident and I liked how it looked. I also wanted a picture that didn’t show my whole face, because I don’t want anyone to know who I am on here. I am not showing cleavage, no kissys, or other inappropriate type things. I have a kind of Mona Lisa smile, I’d like to think. Now if anyone thinks this is sexual, I deeply apologize.

The point I want to make with this post is that I do not like how girls are portraying themselves. Whatever happened to simply smiling? A candid friend photo? I think the pictures girls post to Facebook send a message and a lot of girls don’t understand the message they are sending. If you see a concerning picture of a girl you know, please talk to them and ask them why they like that photo. What made them post it? Don’t they think they are prettier when they smile? A natural look instead of a sexy look is so much better, in my opinion.

“A smile is beauty shining through,” feministbarbie

One thought on “Duck Faces *Bang Bang*

Leave a Reply

