Diva Cup Review….

(Discussing period type things, be warned)

So, after a year of hearing the wonders of the Diva Cup I decided to check it out. I bought mine at Target in the tampon aisle.

For those of you who have no idea what a Diva Cup is, it’s a silicone cup that is inserted into the vaginal canal to catch your period on it’s way out. The box indicates that it can be left in for 10-12 hours and there should be no leaks if inserted correctly. To gain more specifics you can find the website here. I highly suggest doing your own research before investing, it is a $40 item.

The first thing I want to say about the cup is that it’s incredibly weird. If you’re not used to sticking your hands up inside your business, you better get used to it real fast. I didn’t have to change a tampon or pad every few hours, so the only reminder of my period was when I emptied the cup and when I was experiencing cramps. Also, if you are sickened by your period, this product is not for you. This month I got really close and personal to my period in ways that I had never imagined. It was oddly satisfying to empty the cup out and see all of nonsense leaving my body.

If you’re thinking it’s similar to using a tampon, you might want to start rethinking that idea. Tampons are a no mess option in comparison to this thing, but I’ve found the cup is far more comfortable than tampons. I have a tilted uterus and my vaginal area is small. I’ve had problems with Tampax being too long for me to be comfortable. I made the comment to my roommate I didn’t feel the cup at all, it was like a ghost cup. If you can feel the cup it’s probably inserted wrong and you will leak.

The biggest problem I’ve had is insertion and getting the damn thing out. Only by getting in the lowest squatting position can I get the cup in and out. I’ve had the most success putting it in and taking it out in the shower. After insertion you have to rotate the cup to make sure it’s opened properly. That can be a messy process. Honestly, I’ve never had more of a mess during my period than learning how to use this cup. It’s a rather gross business.

Once it was in properly I’ve had only a couple problems. On my heaviest day I had to empty the cup every couple of hours rather than the 12. It was not a fun experience and I almost gave up on the damn thing. I suggest wearing a pad on heavy days or a liner. I can’t imagine having to empty this cup in a public restroom on a heavy day.

On my lighter days it was  a very convenient thing. It didn’t leak and I was able to live life as if I wasn’t on my period. The cup is very revolutionary in some ways, and is a pain in the arse in others. Pads and tampons are way easier to use and are less likely to be used incorrectly. That being said, I didn’t fill up my waste basket with period garbage and I didn’t have to sit in a pad full of blood.

Next month may be easier. I’ve decided that investing in pantie liners  in case of leaks would be a good plan. I had a few leaks on heavy days. I also ordered no leak period underwear.

I think the cup is a good investment, it just takes some getting used to. I’m going to go to the website and look through advice to help me for next time. I’m also thinking about investing in a pair of those Thinx panties. If I do I’ll let you know my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

